top of page

The Story of SMEP

For the first real story shared to Working Progress, I thought I would submit a tale of my own. Fittingly, this particular example of learning from failure was actually my inspiration for creating this site. Given that information, it only makes sense that it gets a little spotlight here, no?

So, for starters, you're probably wondering what a "SMEP" is. Long story short, I was in a class where we all partook in a "Social Media Ethos Project" (hence the SMEP) that was documented in the form of blog posts.

This endeavor was a bit of a roller coaster of sorts for me. Not only did I experience quite a few setbacks during the course of the project, but I also had to overcome a bit of an anxiety of sorts regarding sharing my writing. Rather than try and summarize multiple blog posts worth of content and condense it into one post here, instead I will simply provide the link to the blog containing my SMEP documentation in all of its "glory," as it were:

https://jakeisnotgross.wordpress.com/

On that site you will find all of the posts I made throughout the project and an "About Me" page that pretty much gives you a good idea of the anxiety I mentioned before. Needless to say, it was quite the undertaking.

But, as I said before, this project is what inspired me to create this website. So, if that's not evidence of someone making a positive out of their failure and overcoming personal anxiety, I don't know what is! That's why I think it's such a perfect story for the first real post on this site - it perfectly encapsulates the ideas I want to emphasize with the content here.

Moving forward, I hope to bring all kinds of different stories like the one documented on my SMEP blog. But I certainly don't want them to all be mine! I want to gather up as many different experiences as I can and really illustrate the universality of what I'm trying to show here at Working Progress. I think that I can create a really interesting archive of human experience here and I'm happy to use my example as the first real step in that direction. That said, keep watching this space for more content!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page